We’ve all seen the memes: once the clock strikes midnight on September first, it’s pumpkin spice everywhere. For vegans, however, there’s a sad piece of news: the Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte is not vegan.
We’ll give you a few moments to recover from that gasp.
The famous fall drink complete list of ingredients contains espresso, milk, Pumpkin Spice Flavored Sauce (made of sugar, condensed skim milk, pumpkin puree, 2 percent or less of fruit and vegetable juice for color, natural flavors, Annatto (color), potassium sorbate (preservative), and salt), whipped cream, Starbucks Vanilla Syrup (with sugar, water, natural flavors, potassium sorbate (preservative), and citric acid) and pumpkin spice topping (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and clove). That means that even if replacing the milk with soy or coconut milk and passing on the whipped cream, the Pumpkin Spice Flavored Sauce gets ya.
But fret not, vegans, because there are other wonderful ways to enjoy pumpkin spice, which are completely cruelty-free.
Not only will you not have your name spelled wrong on the cup, your house will smell like pumpkin spice when you make it so we’ll call this one a win-win.
Ready in 20 minutes, these soft and delicious pancakes are the right way to start a fall weekend.
Have one or 14, no one is counting.
This indulgent treat is the perfect way to show friends that vegan sweets can be just as delicious as regular ones. For an added bonus, they’re also gluten-free.
It takes some effort but this classic dessert will not disappoint. To save some time, substitute the crust for a store-bought Graham Cracker crust, which is accidentally vegan.
Photo Credit: Shutterstock